A password will be e-mailed to you.

Aeon Award 2015

The Aeon Award 2015 was the 10th International Aeon Award Short Fiction Contest, a speculative fiction writing competition for science fictionfantasy and horror, organized by Albedo One, Ireland’s premiere magazine of speculative fiction. The contest ran from January 1st 2015 to November 30th 2015, with the three winning stories chosen by Grand Judges Ian Watson, Eileen Gunn, Michael Carroll and Todd J. McCaffrey. The Grand Prize was €1000 and publication in Albedo One. Second and third place prizes were €200 and €100, respectively, alongside publication in Albedo One. Our utmost congratulations to the authors of the three exceptional winning stories, who will each be published in a forthcoming issue of Albedo One.

1st Place: “The Decline of the Death Artist” by David Shaw Mackenzie
2nd Place: “For Goodness Sake” by Robert O’Rourke
3rd Place: “Listen and You Will See” by Clara Kumagai

We must pass on our sincere commiserations to Christopher Ewing (author of “-Dis-“), Biand Ruhland (author of “Four Riders”) and Daniel Barnett (author of “The Sadie Hawkins”), whose excellent stories made the top 6 of the overall shortlist, but only barely lost out on a spot in the top 3. It was a privilege to consider their fine stories.

Below, you will find the full shortlist, in no particular order, with all author names now revealed. Congratulations once more to all authors who made the shortlist. We can predict further great things from these authors. We must finally thank all the authors who entered the Aeon Award 2015. Your support makes the Aeon Award possible.

“-Dis-“ Christopher Ewing
“Four Riders” Biand Ruhland
“The Sadie Hawkins” Daniel Barnett
“The Decline of the Death Artist” David Shaw Mackenzie
“For Goodness Sake” Robert O’Rourke
“Listen and You Will See” Clara Kumagai
“Fire In The Blood” A.J. Vincent
“Ambisagrus” Tina Williams
“Arcane Sky” Kevin Carr
“A Good Daughter” Ashley Noble
“The Great Hunger” Simon Duddy
“Book 9” Tim Connery
“A Message from the Indigo Courtesan” T.D. Edge
“Survival” Ofir Oz
“Ravensong” Hannah Spencer
“The Turquoise Chamber” C. M. Moncrieff
“The Little People” Phil Busby
“The Bride of Golem” Jonn Venn
“Winter Solstice” Christine Valentor
“The Spaces Inbetween” David Cleden
“Persimmon Wonderseeker and the Mystery of the Deadly Lambshade” Mandy-Suzanne Wong
“Dessert Heads” Rajendra Shepherd
“Damn Nation” Stephen Brady
“Limbs” Jim Horlock
“Spaces Which Are Not Empty” Heath Cowled
“The Moon of Lila-Vihreä” Christine Ballantine
“Coiste Bodhar” Nina Oram
“The Tracker” Tricia N. Glock
“The Dream-killer Waits” John J. Kennedy
“Paul” C.R. Berry
“The Cat in the Cave” John Tuohy
“Sword” Xander Butler
“Once We Destroy The Earth — The Moon Should Be Easy” Barry McKinley
“Northern Lights” Aongus Murtagh
“Pricksong” Zoe Gilbert
“Origins” Jemma Pollari
“The Transmissions” Benjamin Mattice
“The Nowhere” Nathan Jones
“The Deer” Kathleen Naureckas
“Another One” David Halligan
“Variable Star” John Eckelkamp
“Mary’s Plant” Scott Weedman
“Reflection” Jaakko Markus Seppälä
“Dog Island” Natalia Theodoridou
“Ereshem” Anthony Laken
“The Mask” Ruth Knafo Setton
“Beyond Hades” Damien Hannaway

Don’t forget, the International Aeon Award Short Fiction Contest is open for entries each year from January 1st until the end of November. The Aeon Award short fiction contest has been running since 2004 and has a Grand Prize of €1000 and publication in Albedo One! Second and third place contest prizes are €200 and €100 as well as guaranteed publication in Albedo One, the leading Irish magazine of science fiction, fantasy and horror.

See the full Aeon Award writing competition rules for more.