A password will be e-mailed to you.

Aeon Award 2014

The Aeon Award 2014 was the 9th International Aeon Award Short Fiction Contest, a speculative fiction writing competition for science fiction, fantasy and horror, organized by Albedo One, Ireland’s premiere magazine of speculative fiction. The contest ran from January 1st 2014 to November 30th 2014, with the three winning stories chosen by Grand Judges Ian Watson, Eileen Gunn, Michael Carroll and Todd J. McCaffrey. The Grand Prize was €1000 and publication in Albedo One. Second and third place prizes were €200 and €100, respectively, alongside publication in Albedo One. 

Albedo One - Issue 47 Cover

Albedo One, issue 47, featuring the three winners of the Aeon Award 2014.

Below, we list the three winning stories and their authors, who received the €1000, €200 and €100 Grand Prizes, respectively.

First Place: Bodyware by Chris Samiullah
Second Place: Lustbader by Ron Schroer
Third Place: The Deepfolk by Juha Kivelä

Our congratulations to the three winners, whose work we proudly published in issue 47 of Albedo One (see inset). We also pass our sincere commiserations to the authors of three exceptional stories from the top 6 whose work just barely missed out (this year’s votes from the Grand Judges were the tightest on record). We predict further great things from these authors in the future.

Starspawn by Cyril Simsa
The Age of the Blessed Virgin by David Shaw Mackenzie
The Contract by James Frazer

Below, we provide (in no particular order) the complete shortlist (of 42 fine stories) with all author names revealed. Thank you all for entering. Your support makes the Aeon Award possible.

Bodyware by Chris Samiullah
Lustbader by Ron Schroer
The Deepfolk by Juha Kivelä
Starspawn by Cyril Simsa
The Age of the Blessed Virgin by David Shaw Mackenzie
The Contract by James Frazer
Meta Stasis by Matt Panfil
A Weightless People
by Patrick Martin
Keep it Clean
by Peter Setters
The Dolls
by A. Maligne
The Grand Piano
by Toby Corballis
A Tale of Two Apocalypses by Eleftherios Keramidas
by John Berks
Boy on a Dolphin, plus Tech
by Eleftherios Keramidas
No Sugar
by Melanie Napthine
Arne Bruson and the Warlocks’ Magic
by Brian O’Leary
The Clock
by Paul Nicholas
The Gift by Rob Riel
They Came With The Rains by Paul Draper
Make Cowards of Us All by Bud Craig
Los Gatos by Celia Stuart Powles
Collecting the Old Gods by Bob Franklin
Somnolescence by Gareth Fox
The Brass Heart by Amie Tracey
Razorface by Sterling Ross Johnson
Dreamweaver by Hannah Spencer
The Mudfish by Gary L. Dearman
Soul Collector by T. Gilmore
Flutter by D. R. Henderson
Anaeseptic by Patrick G. Beatty
The Butterfly by Nicholas Lim
Morrígan the Black by Alan Harrison
The Arcadian Obelisk by David Shultz
Mayan Magic by Gill Sainsbury
Blue by Adrastos Omiss
The Deep Is Hell by Kyle Balmer
Tartarus by Rob Marsh
Little Machines by Dan Malakin
Walls by Elizabeth Rosen
The Owl’s Last Call by Karen Rider
Harmemoric Asylum by Eve-Marie Power
Soaring on Clipped Wings by Suzanne Church
When the Lines Didn’t Matter by J.M. Scott
The Dead Animals Register by Seth Insua
Silent Alarm by Benjamin Iradukunda
Templeman and Gort (Shipbuilders) by Steve Billings

Don’t forget, the International Aeon Award Short Fiction Contest open for entries as of January 1 each year. The Aeon Award short fiction contest has been running since 2004 and has a Grand Prize of €1000 and publication in Albedo One! Second and third place contest prizes are €200 and €100 as well as guaranteed publication in Albedo One, the leading Irish magazine of science fiction, fantasy and horror.

See the full Aeon Award writing competition rules for more.