A password will be e-mailed to you.

Aeon Award 2012

The Aeon Award 2012 was the 7th International Aeon Award Short Fiction Contest and ran from the 1st of January to the 30th of November 2012, with the winning stories announced online at on 12 March 2013.

Albedo One Issue 44 Cover - Small

Albedo One, issue 44, featuring the winners of the Aeon Award 2012.

Our distinguished panel of Grand Judges, comprising for 2012 of Ian Watson, Mike Resnick, Michael Carroll and Todd J. McCaffrey, chose as Overall Winner (and recipient of the €1000 Grand Prize), a superbly exuberant comic fantasy by British author Ian Wild, “The Trufflehounds of Romantic Passion and Desire”, told in Ian’s inimitable style.

As 2nd Place Winner, the Judges chose the contemplative and melancholic fantasy-horror, “Purgatory Central”, by British author Steve Billings, who received the €200 Grand Prize. As 3rd Place Winner, the Judges chose U.S. author Eric Witchey’s superbly crafted, fast-paced and absorbing science fiction story, “For Your Entertainment”. Eric received the €100 Grand Prize.

We congratulate Ian, Steve and Eric on their success in the contest this year. All three stories have been published in Albedo One issue 44 (see inset).

Below, we proudly present the full titles and author names of all 22 shortlisted stories in 2012, with the stories chosen in the top 6 of the shortlist indicated (in no order) by ***. If the quality of the shortlisted stories is anything to judge by, we look forward to seeing great things from all our shortlisted authors in the coming years.

For Your Entertainment *** – Eric Witchey
Monstrous Pretty *** – Keith Roberts
Moonlotus Tea *** – Katrina Lloyd
Purgatory Central *** – Steve Billings
The Trufflehounds of Romantic Passion and Desire *** – Ian Wild
Voices in the Miyata House *** – Seán Hudson
The Treehouse – Tom W. Hughes
Day of the Nightfish – David T. Neal
The Uninvited Afterlife – Julian Gyll-Murray
En Bas de L’eau – Cyril Simsa
The Visitors – John Adams
Bubble Trouble – Daniel Hartropp
Mandrake – Tom Eglington
The Black Madonna – Jonathan Colvson
Milo – Bernard Patry
Interest Due – Dominick Nole
Dancing West to East – Edwina Harvey
What They See on Nox – Karen Heuler
Walking Beans – Phillip Hurst
Even the Small Things – Keith Roberts
Boudreaux and Thibodeaux – Alexander Jennings
Planet Test 01 – Jen Cole
The Grand Fountaineer’s Retirement – Naomi Rawle
Teramar – Tom Murray
The Human Condition – Mike Simon

Finally, the contest could not exist without the support of all the authors who submitted their work in 2012, shortlisted or otherwise, and we look forward to reading your work again in future Aeon Award contests.

Don’t forget, the International Aeon Award Short Fiction Contest opens for entries each year from 01 January to 31 November. The Aeon Award short fiction contest has been running since 2004 and has a Grand Prize of €1000 and publication in Albedo One! Second and third place contest prizes are €200 and €100 as well as guaranteed publication in Albedo One, the leading Irish magazine of science fiction, fantasy and horror. Here’s why you should enter the contest.