A password will be e-mailed to you.

Aeon Award 2010

The Aeon Award is a prestigious fantasy, horror and science fiction writing competition, organised by Albedo One, the leading Irish magazine of speculative fiction. The Aeon Award 2010 was the Fifth International Aeon Award Short Fiction Contest. It ran from January 1st to November 30th 2010. The three winning stories were chosen by our esteemed panel of Grand Judges, renowned SF author Ian Watson, beloved Hugo Award winning SF author Anne McCaffrey, the multiple award winning speculative fiction author Mike Resnick, and revered Irish crime and horror author Sam Millar. For more, see our Aeon Award Contest Grand Judges page.

The winners for 2010 were Greek author Michalis Manolios, coming in first place for his story “Aethra” (translated by Thalia Bisticas), U.S. author Jacob Garbe, coming second for his story “Pinocchio”, and Irish author Robin Maginn, coming third for his story “Room of Empty Frames”. Our utmost congratulations to the authors of the three winning stories.

The authors of the three winning authors have received the Grand Prizes of €1000, €200 and €100, and their stories were published in issue 41 of Albedo One. The overal winner is also given the option of publication in’s excellent Storywire section, where authors earn royalties from online readers of their work. is an award winning news, information, and marketing service for editors, agents, producers, writers, and readers, serving more than one million unique visitors per year, established in March 1996.

Below we proudly reveal the names of the authors of all the fine stories shortlisted for the International Aeon Award Short Fiction Contest in 2010. Our sincere commiserations to all authors on the shortlist whose fine stories were not chosen as winners. We expect to see great things in the future. Those stories are listed in no particular order, but those placed in the top six of the contest shortlisted are denoted by ***.

Blue by Michele Powles
Passage of Time by Philip Hall
Mandurang *** by Eleanor Marney
Jacket by Jane Burke
The Monster of Venice *** by Carole Johnstone
Room of Empty Frames *** by Robin Maginn
From Such Tiny Acorns Do Mighty Squirrels Grow by Ian Wild
Cinnamon Planet by Donald Mead
I Hate You Perso by Daniel Malach
Aethra *** by Michalis Manolios (translated from Greek by Thalia Bisticas)
The Martian Sky
by Louise Hughes
Poacher by Beryl O’Connell
Starchaser by Forest White
Waiting for the Rain by Cyril Simsa
The Machine by Johannes Svensson
A Digital Agony by Alecos Papadopoulos
Mirror Image by Debz Hobbs-Wyatt
The More Things Change by Joe Iriarte
Carnival *** by Pauline Haydon
Pinocchio *** by Jacob Garbe
Sensitive by Brian Wright
Autopsy by Katherine Cornwell
Milford Sound by Peta Freestone
Damn Nation by Stephen Brady

To succeed in its goal of promoting writers and writing in the speculative fiction genres of fantasy, horror and science fiction, the International Aeon Award short fiction contest depends upon the support of writers and their willingness to enter their work. We would therefore like to give our sincere thanks to all who entered, whether shortlisted or not. We would also like to thank all those individuals and organisations that supported the contest through publicity in their publications, websites, newsletters and blogs.

Don’t forget, the International Aeon Award Short Fiction Contest opens for entries each year from 01 January to 31 November. The Aeon Award short fiction contest has been running since 2004 and has a Grand Prize of €1000 and publication in Albedo One! Second and third place contest prizes are €200 and€100 as well as guaranteed publication in Albedo One, the leading Irish magazine of science fiction, fantasy and horror. Here’s why you should enter the contest.