A password will be e-mailed to you.

12 July 2017 – At long last, and with apologies to all for the lengthy wait, the Interim Judges Panel has completed the difficult process of voting for the top 6 stories from the overall shortlist for the International Aeon Award Short Fiction Contest, 2016.

This year the judges have taken the rare decision to choose 7 stories from the overall shortlist of 52 (a record number for the overall shortlist since the contest began in 2004), because a tie in the voting. Our utmost congratulations to the authors of the seven chosen stories, listed below (in no particular order, and with author names withheld to ensure impartiality as the contest proceeds). These stories now go to our panel of eminent Grand JudgesIan Watson, Juliet E. McKennaMichael Carroll and Todd J. McCaffrey for the final decision on the three winners.

Tell Me a Story
When the Last Telepath Left Town
The End Onwards
Beautiful along the break
Ryder on the Brink
Crescendo and Diminuendo in Blue

Once the Grand Judges have decided, we will announce the winners here at

We must also pass our sincere commiserations to the authors of the remaining shortlisted stories, listed below, whose fine work was not chosen this time (all story rights are now returned to the authors). Thank you all for entering. Your support makes the Aeon Award possible. It is with pleasure that we now reveal your names alongside your stories.

Beginner’s Luck by Sarah Hartzer
Dutchman Rules by Richard G. O’Reilly
Lifedrinker by Edana Jakubowsk
Thirty Seven Months and Three Days by Finnbar Howell
Help Wanted by Dave Rudden
Watch The Goodbyes by Tommy Forbes
Dawn by Lisa Farrell
Walpurgis by Ron Schroer
The Black and White by Nev Christie
The Flotsam That Yelled by Mary Ferdinand
Church of Pit by Dustin Hyman
Getting There by Philip Brian Hall
Love in the time of Quarantine by Serena Lawless
Of Memories and Teardrops by Grant T. Reed
Matchsticks by Shane W. Smith
Of Gods and Masters by Paul Duffy
It Always Comes Back by Alyssa J. Martin
In Yartsev by David Shaw Mackenzie
This Demon Inside Me by Michael Banker
The Strangers by James Scully
A Good Place to Hide by Louis Rossi
De-arrangment by Lee Melling
Badhbh by Sheila Armstrong
Taste by Jerry Bachman
Above Instinct by James Walker
The Journey by Stuart Laws
The Face of God by James Carpenter
Eleven by Richard Salsbury
The Voice by Ashley Nelson
The Day Color Came by Tatia Prue
Remnant by John J. Kennedy
We Made Friends With the Monster Under the Bed by Vashti Kashian-Smith
Thanatopsis by Mary E. G. Miller
The Gift by Maree New
The Peach by Montague Chambers
The Psykofage Chamber by Thurstan Honey
Someone Else’s Battles by Philip Brian Hall
Layers by Mike Simon
The God in the Darkness by Dennis Mombauer
Possession by Denise Jani Sizov
Temptation by Hector Wells
Ceaseless Snowy Streets by Robin Alexander Styles
Within by Sam Leeves
Chasm Spells by Morag Lewis
Inspector Bride and The Bloody Shame by M. J. Dworsky

Don’t forget, the International Aeon Award 2017 Short Fiction Contest is open for entries until November 30, 2017. The Aeon Award short fiction contest has been running since 2004 and has a Grand Prize of €1000 and publication in Albedo One! Second and third place contest prizes are €200 and €100 as well as guaranteed publication in Albedo One, the leading Irish magazine of science fiction, fantasy and horror.

See the full Aeon Award writing competition rules for more.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.