A password will be e-mailed to you.

15 June 2016 – At long last, and with apologies to all for the lengthy wait, the Interim Judges Panel has completed the difficult process of voting for the top 6 stories from the overall shortlist for the International Aeon Award Short Fiction Contest, 2015.

Our utmost congratulations to the authors of the six chosen stories, listed below (in no particular order, and with author names withheld to ensure impartiality as the contest proceeds). These stories now go to our panel of eminent Grand JudgesIan Watson, Eileen GunnMichael Carroll and Todd J. McCaffrey for the final decision on the three winners.

Listen and You Will See
The Decline of the Death Artist
Four Riders
The Sadie Hawkins
For Goodness Sake

Once the Grand Judges have decided, we will announce the winners here at

We must also pass our sincere commiserations to the authors of the remaining shortlisted stories, listed below, whose fine work was not chosen this time (all story rights are now returned to the authors). Thank you all for entering. Your support makes the Aeon Award possible. With apologies again for the delay in announcing these results, it is with great pride that we now reveal your names alongside your stories.

“Fire In The Blood” A.J. Vincent
“Ambisagrus” Tina Williams
“Arcane Sky” Kevin Carr
“A Good Daughter” Ashley Noble
“The Great Hunger” Simon Duddy
“Book 9” Tim Connery
“A Message from the Indigo Courtesan” T.D. Edge
“Survival” Ofir Oz
“Ravensong” Hannah Spencer
“The Turquoise Chamber” C. M. Moncrieff
“The Little People” Phil Busby
“The Bride of Golem” Jonn Venn
“Winter Solstice” Christine Valentor
“The Spaces Inbetween” David Cleden
“Persimmon Wonderseeker and the Mystery of the Deadly Lambshade” Mandy-Suzanne Wong
“Dessert Heads” Rajendra Shepherd
“Damn Nation” Stephen Brady
“Limbs” Jim Horlock
“Spaces Which Are Not Empty” Heath Cowled
“The Moon of Lila-Vihreä” Christine Ballantine
“Coiste Bodhar” Nina Oram
“The Tracker” Tricia N. Glock
“The Dream-killer Waits” John J. Kennedy
“Paul” C.R. Berry
“The Cat in the Cave” John Tuohy
“Sword” Xander Butler
“Once We Destroy The Earth — The Moon Should Be Easy” Barry McKinley
“Northern Lights” Aongus Murtagh
“Pricksong” Zoe Gilbert
“Origins” Jemma Pollari
“The Transmissions” Benjamin Mattice
“The Nowhere” Nathan Jones
“The Deer” Kathleen Naureckas
“Another One” David Halligan
“Variable Star” John Eckelkamp
“Mary’s Plant” Scott Weedman
“Reflection” Jaakko Markus Seppälä
“Dog Island” Natalia Theodoridou
“Ereshem” Anthony Laken
“The Mask” Ruth Knafo Setton
“Beyond Hades” Damien Hannaway

We can predict further great things from these authors.

Don’t forget, the International Aeon Award 2016 Short Fiction Contest is open for entries as of January 1, 2016. The Aeon Award short fiction contest has been running since 2004 and has a Grand Prize of €1000 and publication in Albedo One! Second and third place contest prizes are €200 and €100 as well as guaranteed publication in Albedo One, the leading Irish magazine of science fiction, fantasy and horror.

See the full Aeon Award writing competition rules for more.

2 Responses

  1. Avatar
    John Eckelkamp

    Congratulations and best of luck to those in the Top Six!

    And my sympathy to those short-listed that didn’t make it. May you all find homes for your stories worthy of the wait you’ve gone through. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.