A password will be e-mailed to you.

13 April 2014 – We are pleased to announce that the Interim Judges Panel of the International Aeon Award Short Fiction Contest have concluded voting for the top 6 stories from the record-breaking 42 stories shortlisted during 2014.

Voting on this number of exceptional stories (over 350,000 words) was an agonizing process for the judges, who were also acutely aware that the long wait for this announcement has been even more difficult for the shortlisted authors.

The titles of the top 6 stories are given immediately below (in no particular order). Author names are withheld to ensure impartiality as the contest proceeds. We have now passed these stories to our panel of eminent Grand JudgesIan Watson, Eileen GunnMichael Carroll and Todd J. McCaffrey for the final decision on the three winners (expected in just a few weeks).

The Contract
The Deepfolk
The Age of the Blessed Virgin

Our congratulations to the authors of the top 6 stories, whom we wish the best of luck in the final stage of the contest. Once the Grand Judges have decided, we will announce the winners here at

We must also pass our sincere commiserations to the authors of the remaining shortlisted stories, listed below, whose fine work was not chosen this time (all story rights are now returned to the authors). Thank you all for entering. Your support makes the Aeon Award possible, and it is with great pride that we now reveal your names alongside your stories.

Meta Stasis by Matt Panfil
A Weightless People
by Patrick Martin
Keep it Clean
by Peter Setters
The Dolls
by A. Maligne
The Grand Piano
by Toby Corballis
A Tale of Two Apocalypses by Eleftherios Keramidas
by John Berks
Boy on a Dolphin, plus Tech
by Eleftherios Keramidas
No Sugar
by Melanie Napthine
Arne Bruson and the Warlocks’ Magic
by Brian O’Leary
The Clock
by Paul Nicholas
The Gift by Rob Riel
They Came With The Rains by Paul Draper
Make Cowards of Us All by Bud Craig
Los Gatos by Celia Stuart Powles
Collecting the Old Gods by Bob Franklin
Somnolescence by Gareth Fox
The Brass Heart by Amie Tracey
Razorface by Sterling Ross Johnson
Dreamweaver by Hannah Spencer
The Mudfish by Gary L. Dearman
Soul Collector by T. Gilmore
Flutter by D. R. Henderson
Anaeseptic by Patrick G. Beatty
The Butterfly by Nicholas Lim
Morrígan the Black by Alan Harrison
The Arcadian Obelisk by David Shultz
Mayan Magic by Gill Sainsbury
Blue by Adrastos Omiss
The Deep Is Hell by Kyle Balmer
Tartarus by Rob Marsh
Little Machines by Dan Malakin
Walls by Elizabeth Rosen
The Owl’s Last Call by Karen Rider
Harmemoric Asylum by Eve-Marie Power
Soaring on Clipped Wings by Suzanne Church
When the Lines Didn’t Matter by J.M. Scott
The Dead Animals Register by Seth Insua
Silent Alarm by Benjamin Iradukunda
Templeman and Gort (Shipbuilders) by Steve Billings

We can predict further great things from these authors in the future.

Don’t forget, the International Aeon Award 2015 Short Fiction Contest is now open for entries as of January 1, 2015. The Aeon Award short fiction contest has been running since 2004 and has a Grand Prize of €1000 and publication in Albedo One! Second and third place contest prizes are €200 and €100 as well as guaranteed publication in Albedo One, the leading Irish magazine of science fiction, fantasy and horror.

See the full Aeon Award writing competition rules for more.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.