A password will be e-mailed to you.

16 Jan 2015 – The Interim Judges Panel for the International Aeon Award Short Fiction Contest 2014 are delighted to announce those stories added to the contest shortlist after the fourth and final round of the 2014 competition, which ran from October 1 to November 30.

In this final round, the judges had to consider the same number of stories as submitted during all three previous rounds combined, something unprecedented since the contest first opened in 2004. We apologize for the resulting delay in announcing this shortlist, but the judges were determined to give each submission a full and fair consideration, now resulting in an additional 15 stories added to the overall shortlist, which becomes the longest shortlist in the contest’s history.

The titles of all shortlisted stories are given below, but author names are withheld to ensure impartiality whilst the contest proceeds.

We thank the authors of all the stories entered into the contest during the fourth round, and congratulate the authors of the shortlisted stories, who now go on in the competition with a chance to win the 1000 euro Grand Prize and publication in Albedo One.

The Interim Judges send especially heartfelt commiserations to those authors that were not shortlisted – the process of choosing which stories to shortlist in this round was exceptionally hard, with many fine stories losing out by only a whisker.

The judges will now immediately begin the process of re-reading all the shortlisted stories and voting for the top 6, which will be sent to the Grand Judges for the final decision on the three winning stories. We hope to announce the top 6 by the end of February.

Round 4

Meta Stasis
A Weightless People
Keep it Clean
The Dolls
The Grand Piano
The Contract
A Tale of Two Apocalypses
Boy on a Dolphin, plus Tech
No Sugar
Arne Bruson and the Warlocks’ Magic
The Age of the Blessed Virgin
The Clock

Round 3

The Gift
They Came With The Rains
Make Cowards of Us All
Los Gatos
Collecting the Old Gods
The Brass Heart
The Deepfolk
The Mudfish

Round 2

Soul Collector
The Butterfly
Morrígan the Black

The Arcadian Obelisk
Mayan Magic
The Deep Is Hell
Little Machines

Round 1

The Owl’s Last Call
Harmemoric Asylum
Soaring on Clipped Wings
When the Lines Didn’t Matter
The Dead Animals Register
Silent Alarm
Templeman and Gort (Shipbuilders)

Don’t forget, the International Aeon Award 2015 Short Fiction Contest is now open for entries as of January 1, 2015. The Aeon Award short fiction contest has been running since 2004 and has a Grand Prize of €1000 and publication in Albedo One! Second and third place contest prizes are €200 and €100 as well as guaranteed publication in Albedo One, the leading Irish magazine of science fiction, fantasy and horror.

See the full Aeon Award writing competition rules for more.

About The Author

Frank Ludlow

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.