A password will be e-mailed to you.

06 Nov 2014 – The Interim Judges Panel for the International Aeon Award Short Fiction Contest 2014 are delighted to announce those stories added to the contest shortlist after the third round of the competition, which ran from July 1 to September 30.

The judges have matched their record-breaking total from the previous (2nd) round, by shortlisting a total of 12 fine stories. This brings the total shortlisted to date for the contest in 2014 to 31, and is a testament to the sheer quality of the work submitted to the contest.

The titles of all shortlisted stories are given below, but author names are withheld to ensure impartiality whilst the contest proceeds.

We thank the authors of all the stories entered into the contest during the third round, and congratulate the authors of the shortlisted stories, who now go on in the competition with a chance to win the 1000 euro Grand Prize and publication in Albedo One.

The Interim Judges send especially heartfelt commiserations to those authors that were not shortlisted – the process of choosing which stories to shortlist in this round was particularly difficult, with many fine stories losing out by only a whisker.

Round 3

The Gift
They Came With The Rains
Make Cowards of Us All
Los Gatos
Collecting the Old Gods
The Brass Heart
The Deepfolk
The Mudfish

Round 2

Soul Collector
The Butterfly
Morrígan the Black

The Arcadian Obelisk
Mayan Magic
The Deep Is Hell
Little Machines

Round 1

The Owl’s Last Call
Harmemoric Asylum
Soaring on Clipped Wings
When the Lines Didn’t Matter
The Dead Animals Register
Silent Alarm
Templeman and Gort (Shipbuilders)

Don’t forget, the International Aeon Award 2015 Short Fiction Contest is open for entries as of January 1, 2015. The Aeon Award short fiction contest has been running since 2004 and has a Grand Prize of €1000 and publication in Albedo One! Second and third place contest prizes are €200 and €100 as well as guaranteed publication in Albedo One, the leading Irish magazine of science fiction, fantasy and horror.

See the full Aeon Award writing competition rules for more.

About The Author

Frank Ludlow

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.