A password will be e-mailed to you.

December 25, 2012 – The Interim Judges Panel for the International Aeon Award Short Fiction Contest 2012 have, at last, finished with the difficult process of choosing those stories to be added to the Aeon Award contest shortlist after the fourth and final round of the competition, which ran from October 1 to November 30.  This time around, the Judges have added a total of 4 excellent stories to the shortlist. This brings the total number of shortlisted stories after all 4 rounds of the competition to a healthy 25.

The titles of all shortlisted stories are given below, with the 4 new stories highlighted in italics. Author names are withheld to ensure impartiality whilst the contest proceeds. We must thank the authors of all the stories entered into the contest during all of the four rounds. We congratulate the authors of the 4 new shortlisted stories, whose stories now go on in the competition with a chance to win the 1000 euro Grand Prize and publication in Albedo One.

At the same time, our sincere commiserations to those authors whose fine stories were not shortlisted this time around. The quality of your work made the Judges’ task very difficult indeed.

For Your Entertainment
The Treehouse
Monstrous Pretty
Day of the Nightfish
Purgatory Central
The Uninvited Afterlife
En Bas de L’eau
The Visitors
Voices in the Myata House
Bubble Trouble
The Black Madonna
Interest Due
Dancing West to East
What They See on Nox
Walking Beans
The Truffle Hounds of Romantic Passion and Desire
Even the Small Things
Moonlotus Tea
Boudreaux and Thibodeaux
Planet Test 01
The Grand Fountaineer’s Retirement
The Human Condition

What happens next? (1) The Interim Judges face the agonizing task of voting to decide the top 6 stories from the entirety of the shortlist. You can be assured that the judges will debate long in defence of their favourite stories. We hope to announce the top 6 in early January. (2) These 6, once chosen, will then proceed to our esteemed Grand Judges, Ian Watson, Todd McCaffrey, Mike Resnick and Michael Carroll, for the final decision on the three winning stories (hopefully by early February 2013). The very best of luck to the authors of all the shortlisted stories as the judging proceeds!

Don’t forget, the International Aeon Award 2013 Short Fiction Contest will open for entries from January 1, 2013. The Aeon Award short fiction contest has been running since 2004 and has a Grand Prize of €1000 and publication in Albedo One! Second and third place contest prizes are €200 and €100 as well as guaranteed publication in Albedo One, the leading Irish magazine of science fiction, fantasy and horror.

See the full Aeon Award writing competition rules for more.

About The Author

Frank Ludlow

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.